Appeal Ukraine


Monday 28 February 2022

Appeal by members of national and international memorial committees of former Nazi concentration and extermination camps :

Stop this war immediately!

As custodians of the memory of the victims of the Nazi extermination and concentration camps and of the values they defended - often to the death - the undersigned representatives of the National and International Committees of the Nazi Camps, faithful to the Oaths proclaimed at the Liberation and attached to founding historical realities, declare :

Among the Soviet survivors of the Nazi camps who, in the spring of 1945, left the places where they had faced death for years, the most numerous were often Russians and Ukrainians. They all shared the hope of becoming witnesses and actors of a new, liberated and peaceful world.

Russians and Ukrainians had been registered by the Nazis under the same category of prisoners, they had to face the same deprivations, humiliations and life-threatening situations. They could only rely on the solidarity between deportees to survive. All of them had had their share in the common struggle against the Nazi aggressor, as citizens of the Soviet Union.

New states have emerged, but the common history and the human bonds forged by history do not stop at national borders. None of those who suffered the war, none of those who carry the painful legacy, can bear the prospect of a return to tragic times. All of them are united today in considering, in the words of the Mauthausen Oath, "this reconquered freedom as a common good of all peoples".

As bearers of the memory of the victims of Nazism, the signatories of this appeal denounce the use of the words denazification and genocide to justify the attack on Ukraine. We are legitimate in pointing out the weight of tragedy that they cover. We cannot accept that these words should be so abused.

The Testament of the women of Ravensbrück (Neubrandenburg Manifesto), the Oaths and Manifestos of Buchenwald, Mauthausen - on the sites of the just-liberated camps - and then Ravensbrück, Dachau and Neuengamme, all call for peaceful coexistence between all peoples, in peace, democracy and the sovereignty of nations.

We condemn the war against Ukraine, which endangers the very existence of this country and peace in Europe. This military attack is a clear violation of international law. We are convinced that any political conflict can be solved at the negotiating table if both sides show reason and humanity.

Stop this war immediately!

First Signatories:

Liste des Premiers Signataires de l'Appel pour l'Ukraine du 28 février 2022 (liste au 1er mars à 10.00 hrs)

Dusan Stefancic, Président honoraire du Comité International de Mauthausen (CIM), déporté à Mauthausen Guy Dockendorf, Président du CIM Jean-Louis Roussel, Vice-président du CIM

Ingrid Bauz, Membre du Mauthausen Komitee Stuttgart. Anika Taschke, Membre du Mauthausen Komitee Deutschland Dario Venegoni, Président de l'ANED, Associazione Nazionale ex Deportati nei Campi nazisti Dr Monika Kokalj-Kocevar, Mauthausen Committee Slovenia Concha Diaz Berzosa, Vice-Présidente de l'Amical de Mauthausen y otros campos Josep San Martin Bomcompte, membre de l'Amical de Mauthausen y otros campos

Willi Mernyi, Président du Mauthausen Komitee Österreich (MKÖ) Christa Bauer, Directrice du MKÖ

Daniel Simon, Président de l'Amicale française de Mauthausen - déportés, familles et amis

Jean-Michel Thomas, Président du Comité International de Dachau Abba Naor, Vice-Président, déporté à Dachau, CID Benoît Darmont, Vice-Président, CID Rom Steensma, Secrétaire général, CID Wimar Jaeger, Président, Comité néerlandais de Dachau

Irmgard Seidel, vice-présidente du Comité International de Buchenwald-Dora (CIBD), membre du bureau ad interim Agnès Triebel, membre du CIBD, Vice-Présidente de l' Association Française Buchenwald Dora und Kommandos Lena Sarah Carlebach, secrétaire générale ad interim du CIBD Cécile Desseauve, trésorière du CIBD

Ulrich Schneider, Secrétaire général de la Fédération Internationale des Résistants, Association Antifasciste, FIR Guido Lorenzetti , membre du comité exécutif du FIR

Martine Letterie, Présidente de l'Amicale Internationale KZ Neuengamme (AIN) Jean-Michel Gaussot, Vice-Président de l'AIN Marc van den Driessche, Vice-Président de l'AIN Kristof van Mierop, Secrétaire général de l'AIN Uta Kühl, Trésorière de l'AIN Swenja Granzow-Rauwald, Président du comité de jeunes de l'AIN

Ambra Laurenzi, Présidente, Comité International de Ravensbrück (CIR) Marie-France Cabeza-Marnet, Co-Présidente de l'Amicale française de Ravensbrück et des Kommandos dépendants

Dik de Boef, Secrétaire général du Comité International de Sachsenhausen (CIS) Mireille Cadiou, Présidente de l'Amicale française de Sachsenhausen Christine Cavaillès, Vice-présidente pour la France du CIS José Trauffler, Vice-présidente pour le Luxembourg du CIS,

Lex Huss, secrétaire général / trésorier Comité International de Natzweiler, CIN

Camille Mersch, Président de l'Amicale des Anciens Prisonniers Politiques Luxembourgeois du camp de concentration de Mauthausen Paul Hansen, Vice-Président de l'Amicale de Mauthausen du Luxembourg

  Nouvelles signatures, arrivées après 10.00 hrs: Kamil Majchrzak, Vize-Präsident des Internationalen Komitees Buchenwald-Dora und Kommandos (IKBD) und Mitglied beim Vorstand des Polnischen Verbandes Ehemaliger Politsicher Häftlinge der NS-Gefängnisse und Konzentrationslager (PZBWPHWiOK)